Busy? Yes, kind of…

Tomorrow, my friend whom I’ve known since high school is coming with her son for a week-long visit.

When they leave, my days will be filled with dentist appointments and doctors appointments for pets and then…

The Man Beast and I leave on our first cruise ever!

I’m sure to have plenty of material to share when I get back, so please check back often.

***

Summer is slowly winding down for us here in the South. School starts back the first week of August and I don’t think any of us are really ready for it.

The end of summer means back-to-school sales. Do you know when your local stores are hosting their back-to-school sales? It is worth looking into. I read back in April that the tax-free weekends are a thing of the past (at least here in GA). This means, us moms have to get supplies cheap or risk completely breaking the bank.

I usually buy most of my supplies at Staples during their penny sales. Since I work for the school, I get more than the maximum items. Last year, the maximum on loose-leaf notebook paper was 10. I was able to get 25 (and it still only cost me 25 cents!)

Wal-Mart and Kmart are good places to start as is Target.

If times have hit you hard and you can’t afford to buy supplies for your kids, I encourage you to check your local churches, Salvation Army or United Way for help.

Until I “see” you again, stay cool and safe!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Oh I didn’t even see your post! geez, some friend I am, eh??

    Wow, penny sales?? Awesome!! Staples up here doesn’t do anything of the sort… sometimes they have a “good” sale, but it’s not out of the ordinary.

    I’m guessing your schools have air conditioning, if you’re starting back in August – our kids go back the day after Labour Day (the first Monday in Sept) so this year it’s Sept 8th. I wouldn’t mind year-round school though, with a week or two off here and there… but it’s much too hot over the summer and most primary schools don’t have A/C. June and September are usually really uncomfortable with the heat too.

    You’re going to LOVE the cruise!! I emailed you a few suggestions about that a couple days ago, too. Have a fabulous trip!!

    Reply

  2. It’s okay…I still love ya!

    Reply

  3. I’m in love with Goodwill for clothes and home wares when times are tough. I think it’s very sweet of you to give out this info to your readers. PS, thank you for the very sweet comment on my blog!

    Reply

  4. First of all, thank you for commenting on my blog and second, your BOLDNESS rules. Honey, in the scope of life 37 is a baby. My Mom went back to school when it became apparent that my Dad was too sick to be the breadwinner and she had to get 3 kids through college. We graduated together, me at 22 and her at… hmmm, I have to do the math – I’d say 48 or older! So go for it girl. Oh, wait, you already are GOOD FOR YOU! Keep coming by the blog and inspire the other Ladies & Gents!

    Reply

    • Yes, I know you are right. In the grand scheme of things, it really doesn’t matter what age I am when I enter the classroom. Just think of how much “life experience” I bring to the table?!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

