I’m a Big Kid Now!

I finally moved – to a new blogging platform, that is.

I’ve been talking about it for awhile, even tried it out briefly, a couple of months ago.  I finally decided to take the leap just about a month ago when I saw a blog make-up that was just gorgeous.

I literally stumbled upon Totally Together Journal when Stephanie raved about her new blog (and her new book!)  I looked around – while she was still getting settled into her new digs – and something just clicked.  I loved what I saw.

Because bloggy love is abound in the Blogosphere, Stephanie provided the contact information to Make My Blog Pretty and to Jennette who made Stephanie’s blog oh, so pretty.

Jennette asked me which blogs I liked, what I wanted out of my own and if I had any problems transferring to Word Press.  She promised me that she could give me a list of reasons why she recommends Word Press – if I wanted to hear them.  I did. Afterward, I paid careful attention to the blogs I read.  I found myself immediately scrolling to the end of the page if I didn’t see a Blogger symbol.  Most of the people who didn’t use Blogger used Word Press (a few use Typepad, too).

Before long, I was convinced – it was time to make the move.  What you see before is about 10 emails worth of brainstorming, back and forth.

Why did I finally make the move?

I wanted the clean, sharp templates I saw on a lot of Word Press blogs.  I wanted to share a lot of information with my readers, but I was tired of clogging up my page in order to do so.

I’ve had my new blog for a couple of days now.  I’ve spent hours on it ‘cleaning it up’.  First thing you might notice are the links right under my header (isn’t that header great – the turtle is a yo-yo!)  Those are actually pages.  Just click on one and you can find out about me, the terminology I choose to use on my site, my blog roll (thanks for the idea, Ronnica) and even a way to contact me!  All this great stuff – but it doesn’t bog down my blog.

Pretty neat, huh?

I also decided that my work blog – Life According to Iva – didn’t need to be a blog by itself.  I decided, instead, to take lose liberties with Raisin Toast and The Pioneer Woman, and create three distinct catagories: general, Life According to Iva, and FAC – a spin off of a weight loss blog I host with Lizz and Shellbell.  The tags (ramblings) are still the same – but if you’re looking for a work-related post, I hope it’ll be easier to find them this way.  (I also hope to write more work-related posts in the future.  Hint:   Special Olympics is coming up at the end of April!)

I’m still getting used to the Word Press platform.  I’ve had a few little bumps in the road (operator error) that Jennette has been very gracious in helping me with – even after our transaction had been completed.  I think I’m going to like it over here – once I get really used to everything.  There are a lot of elements of Word Press that I like better than blogger – the main one being a clean and streamlined template.  I think with Jennette’s help, I’ve accomplished that.

Please be sure to update your blog rolls and your bookmarks – www.thehorizontalyoyo.wordpress.com.  In the future (think summer), I hope to have a button made up that you can grab (because that turtle is just too darned cute!) as well as my own domain name.

She’s movin’ on up!

6 responses to this post.

  1. I LIKE it!!! Very nice. :o)

    Reply

  2. Woo hoo! Way to join us big kids! I think you’ll like it more and more with time…it really is a good move to make. I don’t think I would have made the move, either, if I didn’t have someone to hold my hand and do my first design. Love your new design as well!

    Reply

  3. So, shall I delete the old blog, then? I like your new look!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

