Weekend Savings

This is my official disclaimer: I do not claim to be a pro. I have a long way to go. I can’t even claim to be a rookie. I’m more like a green horn (are they the same thing?) Suffice it to say, I’m a newbie at best.

This weekend, I had some time to kill, so I decided that I was going to go grocery shopping at three stores: Walgreens, Food Lions and Kroger. Remember, time is money and two weeks ago, I opted for convenience over savings. I didn’t do bad while shopping at Kroger, but I could have done better.

Last week, I took advantage of Food Lion’s meat sale on boneless, skinless chicken breast and ground chuck. I had the extra money, so ended up spending $75 on meat (I got a lot of meat!) Because my freezer is stocked with meat, all I needed to do was add on to make my meals.

Let me start by saving that I learned a long time ago that I need to shop with a list and my list needs to consist of a menu. A lot of people can walk into a store, buy what’s on sale and create meals. Other people can’t fathom the idea of planning meals for the next 5, 7 or 14 days for fear of them not wanting what was slated for a particular night. Me – if I don’t plan, I’ll spend more.

So, given that I had a bit of slack (and a bit of time), I decided to hit the sales. I did okay with my deals. I spent $75 and saved $21. Not a fabulous savings, but when I consider that I could have spent $96 instead, that makes me feel very good.

I recently discovered online coupons. If you visit my blog roll, you’ll see a lot of the blogs listed talk about printed coupons, but I never gave them much thought. It wasn’t until recently that I got ink for my printer so that I could print out coupons.

But lately, I’ve really been paying attention to the printable coupons online.W hen I first began clipping coupons I clipped everything. I knew that there were good deals to be had and sometimes I got them…sometimes I overspent getting them. Let me tell you: when you’re over spending trying to get deals with coupons and sales that you would never buy in the first place, you aren’t saving money. You’re buying more stuff – albeit at a good price – and blowing your budget. Anyway you slice it, it’s not good.

Instead,  I clip only the coupons that I will use or I might use. I gave up clipping a lot of the makeup and hair color coupons. I don’t use them unless I could get them free and even then, I’d never take the time that it takes to get them free. (If I were better at this coupon business, I might take advantage and donate them to a woman’s shelter – but being that time is money, I don’t).

Back to printable coupons – I found some good ones and I was just lucky enough to find one that worked perfectly with a current sale going on at Food Lion/Harvey’s.

The Velveeta Shells and Cheese and Kraft Deluxe boxed dinners are on sale 3/$5. At both of these stores, you don’t need to buy all three boxes to get the deal. I found a printable coupon online for the Velveeta Shells and Cheese – buy 2 and get $1.50 off. I took advantage. When all was said and done, I paid .91 for each box of Velveeta Shells and Cheese. This price is unheard of – even at WalMart.

Never under estimate the power of coupons – both in your Sunday newspaper and online.

This week, I’ll be offering some give aways. Please be sure to check back daily to enter.

I use Coupons.com to find my coupons.  If you visit the blogs in my blog roll, you’ll find current deals.  Good luck!

4 responses to this post.

  1. […] on May 5, 2009. Filed under: General | Tags: Giveaway Ramblings | As I mentioned yesterday, I have discovered the joy of finding printable coupons for the stuff you want – and the stuff that […]

    Reply

  2. Actually you earned $21 with your diligent shopping, and you didn’t even have to pay tax on that income 🙂

    Reply

  3. Yeah,It’s a good Idea to save money, I will try it, thanks a lot.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

