Being Unemployed Has Its Perks

The Man Beast has been home with us all week long.  All week long.  You’d think we would be ready to tear each other apart (let’s face it: as much as we love our people, sometimes, there is such a thing as too much together time).  This week has been awesome.

Before TMB lost his job, he all week long – usually twelve hours a day (sometimes more, sometimes less).  Saturdays were usually spent doing family chores and Sundays were spent hanging out.  I used to love my weekends.  There is something to be said having your whole family together, chillaxin’, after a long week of school and work.  Usually one meal a weekend was made by the Man Beast.  Believe me when I say that TMB is a great cook.  I’m good.  He’s better.  Much better.  (Except the cleaning up part.  This needs work.  Luckily, there is the Boy).

To say I’m somewhat spoiled on the weekend is an understatement.  They are truly relaxing to me as a wife, mother, and woman.

This week has been a bit like that.

TMB, try as I might to get him to sit down and relax, has spent most of the weekend in the kitchen (cooking, not cleaning).  He says he finally has the time to try out some new recipes he’s been wanting to make.  Besides, if he’s not cooking, he says, he feels useless.

On Monday, TMB made us breakfast – potatoes, sausage, bacon and eggs.  That night, he made The Boy’s meal-of-choice after returning from a week long camping exertion: Salisbury steak, mashed potatoes and green beans.  Thursday, he made pretzels.   There is talk about bagels, too.

TMB is definitely not good for the waistline.  To add insult to injury, there has been some major road construction going on right in front of our house! We have been trapped like animals all week long.  Why they chose the summer to do major road construction, I’ll never know.  To me, it makes more sense to do it during the school year when people are at school/work.

Aside from the culinary advantages of having TMB at home, it’s been great to have that weekend feeling all week long.  Having my whole family here, stuck at home, has definitely been a blessing in disguise.  Especially because we know that once TMB does start work, a vacation isn’t going to be in the future for a very long time.

horizontalyoyo

3 responses to this post.

  1. Glad you’re enjoying your time with him! It bugs me when people say they could never stand to have their husband home much. Mine came home to work in 1995 and he’s been here ever since. We love it 🙂

    Reply

    • It is kind of sad, isn’t it? Granted, there are those days when we all get on each other’s nerves. The fact that Baby Gurl and I went grocery shopping today while the guys stayed at home seems to have us both feeling much better.

      Reply

  2. I’m glad y’all are enjoying your time together. And I’m glad that your husband has a job to go to when all this is ‘over’. Y’all have something special. :o) I’ve never understood couples who don’t enjoy each other. My hubby retired about years ago and it’s been heavenly for us. I love having him home!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

