Do Princesses Make Chicken Nuggets

Do Princessses Wear Hiking Boots? by Carmela LaVigna Coyle is one of my student’s favorite books.  Whenever we’d go to the Media Center last year and I would hold up two books – this being one of them – she would always choose this one.  Baby Gurl loves reading it, too.  If you have a princess, I suggest you check out this book from your local library.  It’s super cute and I’m sure there is some political/woman’s lib meaning somewhere in there, but I don’t see it like that.  Instead, I see a little girl who wears a dress and climbs trees.  Just like my girl.

My princess in hiking boots

I made homemade chicken nuggets the other day for dinner.  It wasn’t long before Baby Gurl joined me…complete in a ‘wedding dress’ and make up.

“Can I help?” she asks.  “I washed my hands.”

How can I say no to a request (or a face) like that?

A week or so ago, I used Shake n Bake to make some chicken nuggets.  It worked well, but the mix was really salty.  This time, I decided to make it myself.

I grabbed a canister of bread crumbs, some pepper, kosher salt, garlic powder, Italian seasoning and parsley.  Suffice it to say, I didn’t know what I was doing.

Bread crumbs

This is really no surprise, however, since most of the time while I’m in the kitchen, I don’t know what I’m doing.

Baby Gurl helped me with my egg wash that I had set aside in another pan.

Egg Wash

I cut up one package of chicken, wondering if that’d be enough.  Half way through the washing and coating of the chicken, I ran out of bread cumb mixture. So, I improvised.

Hello, Cap’n Crunch! (I told you I didn’t know what I was doing!)

Coat.  Coat.  And coat some more.  Pretty soon, I ran out of Cap’n Crunch, too!  There were only five pieces of chicken left, so I just put them in the egg wash and put them on the baking sheet.

Long story short – all three versions of the chicken nuggets came out really, really good.  (Surprised?  I am!)

One response to this post.

  1. […] that instead of majoring in English as I had before, my path would detour to a stronger calling. I spent time in the kitchen with Baby Gurl as she really showed an interest this […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

