Come to the Country Side – We Have NASCAR

My apologies for my blatant stereotype…

So, I’ve been listening to the radio a lot lately and I’ve noticed something – former rock/pop/contemporary performers are now singing for the country crowd.

Jessica Simpson – Wasn’t she pop not too long ago?  Did she turn country after she played Daisy for a spell?

Jewel – This is just a match made in heaven.  I’ve always really liked Jewel’s music, but she seemed to have made the transistion into country seamlessly.

Darius Rucker – Ol’ Hooty himself. I’ve always been a fan of Hootie and the Blowfish (even though I didn’t always agree with the subject matter). The Man Beast is calling Shenanigans.  He says Don’t Think I Don’t Think About It is a rewrite of Let Her Cry.

I heard a pop version of one Kelly Pickler’s songs.  I’m not surprised.  Shania Twain has been going back and forth between the country and pop/rock circuits for years.

Sometimes, it just works, ya know?

horizontalyoyo

4 responses to this post.

  1. I don’t know who any of those people are. I’m so .. thankfully .. behind the times. 🙂 I like real country not the modern pseudo country.

    Reply

    • See, I like the pseudo country. Every time I listen to our local classic country station, Sparky, I think of you 😀

      I do dig me some Patsy Cline, Loretta Lynn and Dolly Parton. I cannot tell a lie.

      Reply

  2. Eeeewwww Nascar?! 😉

    Hey, are you ready for tomorrow?! Theme is “Summer Time”

    Have an awesome evening!

    Reply

    • Don’t like NASCAR, either. The Man Beast has started watching it – amazing!

      Yes, I’m ready for tomorrow 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

