Happy Furlough Day: A Give Away!***A Winner Announced!!*

Hey y’all!  Sorry it’s taken me so long to get back to you.  I wanted to get back, however, and announce that the winner of my Zhu Zhu Pets giveaway is Kathy!  Congratulations, Kathy!  I’ll be contacting you soon to ask for your address.

Thank you to everyone who played.  Be sure to check back often, as I plan on doing giveaways through out the year.

*********************************************************************************************

Furlough: work without pay. My definition.  Since I work for the school system, I get paid for the holidays.  Yesterday, I got paid, even though I didn’t work.  Today, I don’t work but don’t get paid.

But just because I’m not getting paid doesn’t mean that you can’t have some fun!

I told my Facebook friends a couple of weeks ago that The Boy’s fish finally died.  I think he went to Wal-Mart and bought them with his own money around six months ago.  Maybe it was longer.  But when he finally changed his tank to clean it, he put the fish into water shock.  They didn’t make it.  He was crushed.

His birthday is in two months (gasp!) and he’s already put in for a hamster for his birthday.  We live in a small community here in GA and I wouldn’t even know where to begin to find a hamster.  If y’all have any ideas, please leave me a comment!

To go from taking care of a fish to a hamster is a huge step (especially when Baby Gurl has a 4-year-old cat named Kitty lurking around).  The Boy is turning 12.  Surely he knows how to take care of a hamster, right?  Well, as a compromise, I told him that I wanted him to learn all he could about hamsters and then we’d talk.

So, check back in two months to see if  TMB and I actually cave and get The Boy a hamster.  TMB says no.  I’m leaning towards a yes.  We compliment each other so well, no?

And now on to the giveaway.  Anyone already doing some Christmas shopping?  (I am so not).  But if you are shopping for some kiddlets in your life, maybe I could help.

ZhuZhu logo -1Zhu Zhu Pets!  Have y’all seen these?  Baby Gurl and I were at Wal-Mart, looking to spend her birthday gift card (Thanks, Daddy!) and we saw these battery operated hamsters.  Like a furry Barbie, you can buy not only the hamsters, but also the environments to go with them.

zhu zhu hamster-1zhu zhu wheel -1zhu zhu garage-1I think the coolest environment was the hamster wheel.  This little sucker is so life like that a friend of ours came over with his five year old.  As he was walking past his kid, his boy dropped the hamster and it started squeaking.  He freaked out and though for sure that he was going to have to go to a pet shop to replace our hamster!

Another great thing about Zhu Zhu Pets is that all the environments link up together…just like a real hamster environment!

Zhu Zhu world-1The Man Beast and I put ours together with relative ease.  The plastic is a bit flimsy, but we figure it has to be since every single stinkin’ enviroment links to another.  If you look closely at the picture above, you’ll see vehicles.  We have the car.  The hamster actually scoots into the car and drives out of the garage!  It really is neat.

As we speak, our Zhu Zhu Pets environment is sitting in our den on the floor, in front of the TV.  The only down side to this toy is that it tends to take up a bit of space.  But on the plus side, you can take the components apart and store them (although I don’t know where – a box specifically for your ZhuZhu Pet perhaps?)

And here’s the really neat part – I get to give a Zhu Zhu Pet and two environments away!  I have a hamster, a surfboard and sleep dome as well as a spiral slide & ramp that I’m going to send to a random visitor.  Simply leave a comment telling me what you plan on doing with your Zhu Zhu Pets if you win.  Will you give it to your child?  A niece or nephew?  Will you keep it for yourself or give it another grown up as a gag?

To further your chances, feel free to blog about it on your own blog, tweet or Facebook it.  (Be sure to come back and let me know that you’ve spread the word).

And in case you’re wondering – no, I don’t think this qualify as a hamster for The Boy.  It would be nice: no smell, no mess and no dying…unless you count the batteries.

The giveaway ends at noon on Saturday, September 12th.  This gives you plenty of opportunity to spread the word, if you choose (Lord knows we’re all busy!) The contest has ended.  Thanks for those who participated!

Good luck!

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Patti on September 8, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Probably take it out to the flea market, as I do everything else I get LMAO

    love your blog, g/f!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kathy on September 8, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    Hey girlie! My oldest grandson has a birthday tomorrow, so this would be a GREAT start of a “pet” he can take care of on his own! Have a GREAT day!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mom on September 8, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    Hey…what if Grandma B gets one for my grandson?? That’s a great idea. Nah..it wouldnt be the same…How about a drum set??..well, I will keep thinking..after all I have 2 months. Love you all..MOM

    Reply

    • He already has one…we reviewed it and go to keep a set for ourselves. As far as the drum set goes, no need…he gets his trumpet tomorrow. So the noise factor is taken care of.

      Thanks though.

      Reply

  4. My kids love zhu zhu pets.

    Reply

  5. Gah, good luck with that! 😉

    Haven’t seen you at all in such a long time! Try to make it out for a Haiku on Wednesday, will you? Just to reassure me you’re still around!!

    Hope all is well…

    Reply

  6. Hello, Quiet One. I’ve left something for you on my blog. Come see me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

