Mamavation Mondays

My New Year’s Resolution included moving more, not losing weight or getting healthy. But they all go hand-in-hand (kind of neat how that happens, huh?)

I’ll be posting every Monday on my journey the previous week as part of the Mamavation Mondays – a group of women who support each other in their healthy journeys. It’s not about losing weight (although that’s part of it). It’s about taking care of ourselves as women so that we can take care of others in our lives – be them husbands, children, or friends. Support is key in any endeavour as it helps get you through the rough times and gives you a cheering section to celebrate your successes – no matter how small they might seem to the general population.

I’ll be bringing over a lot of blog posts from Spark People – no sense in doing double the work, right? But I’ll give you a brief run-down on my weight loss journey in the past:

January 1, 2007 begins my journey of seriously buckling down and taking steps to make a healthy lifestyle change.

Through the course of the year, I lost 40 pounds. Then, I went to VA to visit friends and family. One day turned into a bad week. A bad week turned into a bad month. Long story short, I’ve gained back 20 of those original 40 lbs lost. Truth to tell, I can stand to lose 30 to be at a healthy weight – 40 to be at a comfortable weight. I have a long way to go.

The reason why I chose MOVE MORE as one of my New Year’s resolutions (goals, whatever) was because I felt it was the one area that I was lacking – the one piece of the puzzle that I’ve never quite mastered. While I struggle with drinking water, I can do it. Not going back for seconds – yeah, I got that mastered (when I put my mind to it). But moving was one thing I always struggled with – so it’s the one thing I’m focusing on this year.

MOVE does not mean exercise in my book. Sure, I love Tae Bo and enjoy walking (I would really like to work up to running). But another aspect of moving for me is just getting up off my duff and MOVING. PlayingΒ  racquetball with a friend, playing with the kids on the beach, taking a walk with the kids, taking a walk with The Man Beast (TMB). Just MOVING.

Because my goals aren’t a diet. They aren’t an exercise program. Those, in my mind, mean short-term actions. I want a long-term action. And not only that – I don’t want to have to think about it. I want it to become who I am. I want it to become so automatic that I’m not thinking, “I need to take my walk now”, “I need to drink 32 more oz of water to get my daily allotment in”, “I only have 250 more calories left – what can I eat?” My mind doesn’t work that way. I become obsessed.

I don’t want to be obsessed. I want to live.

For all my Mamavation followers out there, be sure to check back each week to see my progress. You are my accountability – at least publically. I know that I’m accountable to myself on this side of the screen.

Until next time…

29 responses to this post.

  1. oh I so know what you mean about a day turning to a week a month so on so on…it is hard…you kept 20 off…that is what you should try to focus on….You will get there! Baby steps!

    Reply

    • Trish – yes. That is what I’m focusing on. Here’s to losing that 20 that I gained and losing the final 10 or 20 after that! πŸ˜€

      Reply

  2. looking forward to supporting eachother ….. it is hard , my bad thing is the “moving” part..but you are even way ahead of me in that department..

    i just joined sparkpeople last night and trying to figure out the site, alot of info. my username i think, is tvandeusen , couldn’t figure out how to find others .. will work on navigating the site this afternoon..
    keep it up
    have a great day / week
    xoxo

    Reply

  3. Lots of luck to you! I had times of yo yoing this summer with my weight. I went for about 3 months and gained back about 5 and then decided to take a challenge with a couple ladies and that accountability really helps!

    Reply

  4. One day at a time hun XOXO I am on Spark too bkbond is my name I will look for you.

    Reply

  5. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Iva, Rachel Ostrander. Rachel Ostrander said: Great line @HorizontalYoYo "I don't want to be obsessed. I want to live." Check out her #mamavation monday post! http://bit.ly/8e6DKM […]

    Reply

  6. Mm hmm. I like it. Just move. I could learn from you. You sound very determined, and I believe in you!

    Reply

  7. I’m getting off my duff too! Love your goal to move more, every little bit counts, doesn’t it?

    I’m looking forward to cheering you on this year!

    Reply

  8. Posted by suburbhousewife on January 4, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    I agree about moving more. That is a constant challenge. Love your post.

    Reply

  9. i agree with so much of this post!!! I’m the head cheerleader who is a fan of old fashion burning calories! I dont like diets. healthy eating and working out. pretty simple idea really. I’m an avid runner so if you ever need help getting started i’m the girl. The trick to getting moving is to find that activity you love to do and you’ll be excited to do it. make time to do it. Consistency is key! Welcome to the mamavation family. you will find alot of support and accountability here. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  10. Great post. I love the idea about MOVING. I need to do the same thing! However, with that being said today is the first day of drinking water and I’ve never moved so much in my life (going to potty)!

    Reply

    • Believe it or not, Lisa, your body will get used to the water intake and you’ll get to the point where you don’t go as often – I promise!

      Reply

  11. Another Mamavation newbie! Love it!
    I’ll be looking for your posts – and trying to get to that comfortable place where I can run as well!

    Reply

  12. What an awesome post. Your honesty is so wonderful. I can’t wait to go on the Mamavation Journey with you. We are all here to help each other get closer to our goals.

    Reply

  13. Start with simple things like house chores… I love cleaning coz I get to move a lot and accomplish a task. I love to walk the dog coz it’s another reason for me to move. My laptop is on the kitchen counter so I’m still standing up while checking emails, twitter, stuff, instead of sitting down. When you catch yourself sitting down, look for something else to do like clearing clutters or folding laundries – standing up. As your body adopts, look for more challenging routines you could add into your lifestyle. Good-luck!

    Reply

  14. Girl I’m very happy you are posting! I’m very excited to be part of your support! YOu fell flat on your face, now pick yourself up and dust yourself off. Just keep going. No need in beating yourself up about it. πŸ™‚ XXOO

    Reply

    • That’s right! I did not get it right the first time, or the second or the third. The secret it so get up when you fall. You must always GET UP.

      Reply

  15. What a great post! You sound thoroughly motivated with a good firm grip on the way this is supposed to run…you are in it for the life change. I can totally relate to wanting it to be WHO I am, I want the same. Much of it is a part of who I am…but I seriously need to move more too πŸ™‚
    Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

