Book Banter: My Sister’s Keeper

First, I have not watched the movie, so if you comment, please do not give anything about the movie away! From the video preview on Amazon, it’s highly apparant that the book and the movie are world’s apart.

That said, I really enjoyed My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult.  I’m sure everyone has seen the previews for the movie, “I’d like to sue my parents for the right to my body.”

That’s a pretty powerful statement – but as you can probably imagine (at least in the book version of the story, there is so much more to it than that).

Anna was genetically conceived so that she could save her sister, Kate, who has a rare form of leukemia.  Immediately after she is born, Anna’s cord blood is reserved for Kate.  But for the desperate Brian and Sarah, that’s not enough.  How far would you go to save your own daughter’s life?  Would you risk one’s life to save the other?  The lines of what’s right and what’s ethical are soon blurred.

The book admittedly takes a while to get into – but once you’re in, you’re hooked.  I couldn’t put it down!

The author divides the book up by both days (the story covers a week) and each character’s point of view.  Because Brian, the dad and Jesse, the older brother offer their voice, it’s a bit hardcore at times in the language department.  But if you can get past it, it’s worth it.

I found myself rooting for most of the characters, but amazingly, it was the mother that I grew most angry at.  You would think being a mother myself, that I could identify with her struggle.  But I didn’t.  Instead, I found myself sympathizing with Brian who was able to look at both of his daughters’ welfare, not just the one who is terminally ill.

I stayed up until midnight finishing the book and when I was done, I was sobbing.  Rarely do I cry while reading books, but this is definitely a tear jerker.  I believe that if I see the movie (which I would like to do one day), I’ll have to bring tissue.  While I have no doubt that the book and movie are different, I believe the tear-jerker aspect will stay in tact.

So, if you’re looking to find a book to wind up your summer, this one might be one you’ll want to pick up at your local library.

horizontalyoyo

6 thoughts on “Book Banter: My Sister’s Keeper

  1. Sounds like a good book, very thought provoking. I’m still reading “The Constituion In Exile” by Judge Napolitano. When I finish that I’ll be on the lookout for another one and will keep “My Sister’s Keeper” in mind. We don’t watch new movies anymore. Few can act or direct a movie like they used too. Just my never to be humble opinion. 😉

    1. From what I can tell from the author’s website (because you know I’m all about authors’ websites), she writes a lot of social commentary stuff. She’s written a ton of books – all about controversial subjects. It’s heavier fiction…I think I might read through her library this year.

  2. I’d like to read it – sounds compelling! I wonder what I would do to save my child. You’d like to say “ANYTHING” but if it comes at the expense of your other child – how can you justify it? I guess we can only hope to never be put in that position.

    I prefer to read a book before the movie version, even though I’m often disappointed in the movie.

    I just read “the Time Traveler’s Wife”, which was good, but… not great. I was able to put it down several times (which in my estimation is not the mark of a great book) and the hard core language, in this case, was not necessary and detracted somewhat from the story. I wonder what the movie will be like – it will certainly be difficult to follow as far as time lines go…!

    p.s. sorry if I insulted you with my latest blog post – I sure didn’t mean to!

Leave a comment